City and County of Swansea



Minutes of the Council

Multi-Location Meeting - Council Chamber, Guildhall / MS Teams

Friday, 28 October 2022 at 2.00 pm

Present:

Councillor A M Day (Lord Mayor) Presided

Councillor(s)

Councillor(s)

P M Black A M Day P Downing M Durke C R Evans R Francis-Davies F M Gordon K M Griffiths C A Holley P R Hood-Williams B Hopkins D H Hopkins M H Jones M Jones

S M Jones E J King E T Kirchner A S Lewis M B Lewis W G Lewis P Lloyd D Phillips C L Philpott S Pritchard K M Roberts B J Rowlands R V Smith A H Stevens Councillor(s) R C Stewart L G Thomas T M White P N Bentu H J Gwilliam D H Jenkins M W Locke N L Matthews J D McGettrick J E Pritchard M S Tribe A J Jeffery

Officer(s)

Huw Evans Tracey Meredith Samantha Woon Head of Democratic Services Chief Legal Officer / Monitoring Officer Democratic Services Officer

Apologies for Absence

Councillor(s): C Anderson, C R Doyle, V M Evans, E W Fitzgerald, R Fogarty, N Furlong, L S Gibbard, T J Hennegan, J W Jones, H Lawson, P N May, H M Morris, L V Walton and R A Williams

68. Disclosures of Personal and Prejudicial Interests.

The Chief Legal Officer gave advice regarding the potential personal and prejudicial interests that Councillors and / Officers may have on the agenda.

The Head of Democratic Services reminded Councillors and Officers that the "Disclosures of Personal and Prejudicial Interests" sheet should only be completed if the Councillor / Officer actually had an interest to declare. Nil returns were not required. Councillors and Officers were also informed that any declarable interest must be made orally and in writing on the sheet. In accordance with the provisions of the Code of Conduct adopted by the City and County of Swansea no interests were declared.

69. Conferring Title of Honorary Alderman / Honorary Alderwoman.

The Lord Mayor stated that Council at its meeting on 7 July 2022 resolved to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on the following former Councillors June E Burtonshaw, Mark C Child, D Gareth Sullivan & Des W W Thomas in recognition of their long and eminent service to the City and Council of Swansea and its predecessor Authorities. The Ceremonial Meeting of Council ceremoniously conferred those titles.

The title is derived from the Old English title of "Ealdorman", literally meaning "Elder Man", and was used by the Chief Nobles presiding over Shires. The position of Honorary Alderman / Honorary Alderwoman is non-political.

The title is used within the City and County of Swansea as a reward for individuals who have reached the end long and eminent services to the Council providing the criteria has been met.

June E Burtonshaw

Former Councillor and Former Lord Mayor June E Burtonshaw served the Penderry community. She was Lord Mayor of the City & County of Swansea 2002-2003. The periods of service being:

- Swansea City Council. 5 May 1983 to 31 March 1996.
- City & County of Swansea. 4 May 1995 to 9 May 2022.

Mark C Child

Former Councillor and Former Lord Mayor Mark C Child served the West Cross community. He was Lord Mayor of the City & County of Swansea 2020-2021. The period of service being:

City & County of Swansea. 6 May 1999 to 9 May 2022.

D Gareth Sullivan

Former Councillor and Former Lord Mayor D Gareth Sullivan served the Llangyfelach community. He was Lord Mayor of the City & County of Swansea 2008-2009. The periods of service being:

- Lliw Valley Borough Council. 7 May 1987 to 31 March 1996.
- City & County of Swansea. 4 May 1995 to 9 May 2022.

Des W W Thomas

Former Councillor and Former Lord Mayor Des W W Thomas served the West Cross community. He was Lord Mayor of the City & County of Swansea 1996-1997. The periods of service being:

- Swansea Borough Council. 4 May 1972 to 31 March 1974.
- Swansea City Council. 1 April 1974 to 5 May 1976.
- West Glamorgan County Council. 1 November 1979 to 31 March 1996.
- City & County of Swansea. 4 May 1995 to 9 May 2022.

The Leader of Council and the Leader of the Largest Opposition Group paid tribute to the long and eminent service of these former Councillors. The four Honorary Aldermen responded.

The meeting ended at 2.25 pm

Chair